Baby Knits

I’ve been knitting up a storm in preparation for spudlet’s arrival. I’m an avid knitter, something I’ve been honing my skills at for the past six years and little baby clothes are cute and satisfying to make. I spent quite a bit of time knitting things while I was staying with my parents over Christmas and still manage to get quite a bit done despite working full time. I also spin my own yarn, so some of spudlet’s new wardrobe is made from my handspun. I’m aiming for him to be the best dressed baby in Perth, come this winter. 😀

So here, without further ado are most of my completed baby knits. I have linked them to their project pages in Ravelry:

IMG_1535

 

This is a teeny tiny Tri-Peak hat. It’s an ingenious pattern with a really clever bind off to form the three peaks. I knitted it from some lovely German yarn I picked up in Sydney.

 

 

 

 

IMG_1527

 

This is a little sleep sack knitted from a very soft yarn (which was a bit of a pain to knit with to be honest).

I’m concerned it might be a little small for spudlet but I can always use it for a heat pack cozy or something. It has a button band at the bottom to make nappy changes easier.

IMG_1522

 

This is a cardigan called Purperium. I’ve knitted this in a bigger size than most of my knits so it might not fit spudlet until he’s 1 or so. It buttons down the side for something a bit different.

 

IMG_1548

 

This is one of my favourite things so far. It’s a teeny tiny pair of overalls and matching hat knitted from some of my handspun yarn. Despite the fact that this pattern is worked from the bottom up (which is just weird), I really enjoyed making them and I’m happy with how they’ve come out. I added an extra pair of buttons so it will hopefully fit a bit longer. The hat is adorable, I might well make another in this pattern.

 

 

 

IMG_1506

 

This little cardigan was the first thing I knitted for spudlet. The yoke and bands are worked from a small skein of lovely silky handspun. The body of the cardigan is a really soft cashmere blend yarn that I had leftover from a cardigan I made for myself a few years ago.

 

IMG_1512

 

This soaker (nappy cover) is made from some very soft malabrigo yarn. The ladybird buttons are so adorable! This wasn’t the greatest pattern of all time, but it should be useable.

 

 

 

IMG_1517

 

I call this the Goth Romper. It’s a cute little playsuit with buttons at the top and also at the crotch to assist with nappies. When following the pattern, it came out overly long. I managed to pick up stitches in the middle, unravel a few inches and kitchener stitch it back together. I’m quite proud of that. 😀

 

 

 

 

IMG_1531

 

This gorgeous fish hat was made for spudlet by the very sweet and extremely talented Julie. She’s really great at these fish hats in particular and this one is knitted from her handspun. It’s so delightfully soft, I’m sure it’s going to be adorable on spudlet.

Despite being a knitter, I love knitted and other handmade gifts! I know how much time and effort goes into them and I really really appreciate it. Thanks Julie! 😀

 

 

I’m not going to stop here with the knitting. I’ve also finished but not photographed a Turtle Butt soaker and I’m currently working on a Tiling Fish blanket and a Pepita body suit. I also have a Pinterest board of baby knits that I hope (rather optimistically) to make my way through. It’s a labour of love for me. I enjoy the process and I look forward to dressing up spudlet in my creations.

6 thoughts on “Baby Knits

  1. Gorgeous! I have boxes full of beautiful baby gear my grandmother knitted for her someday great-grandchildren before she passed away. She made my sister and I full layettes and gave them to us, but she had been knitting in stealth and we found the boxes when we packed up her house. I loved seeing the twins in her knits particularly because it reminds me of her, but also because there is just nothing better than hand knitted baby gear. I look forward to using them one day for my own baby. And I look forward to seeing spudlet in this gear! 😉

    • Thanks Kate. How lovely that your grandma made such special things. My mum knitted a whole bunch of beautiful French outfits for me when I was a baby but unfortunately they are long lost. She’s now knitting a rainbow lace blanket for spudlet. It’s so nice that your future children will have that connection with your grandmother even though they won’t get to meet her.

Leave a Reply

