Pregnancy update

I haven’t been blogging much lately for a number of reasons. The main one is that mentally and emotionally my pregnancy has been somewhat difficult. There is a lot I want to say about this, but finding the time and headspace to write about it has been eluding me. I still hope to get there so stay tuned.

I’ve also been busy trying to balance full time work, getting everything ready for spudlet and managing my increasingly slow and ungainly body.

Today I’m 30 weeks pregnant so I’m well into my third trimester. Spudlet is very active, enough so that I’ve asked a few midwives if there’s such a thing as too much movement (apparently not). I’m also now having trouble sleeping because my hips are getting very painful at night in addition to all the kicking.

On the organisation front, I think we’re doing pretty well. The nursery is mostly set up and I’m very pleased with it. We have a cot and many of the sundries we will need. We’re still working on a name but we’re making progress there too.

I’m really hanging out for the weather to cool down. I’m still trying to walk as much as possible, but when the weather is in the mid to high 30s, that becomes really unpleasant. I’ve finally found a maternity swimming costume, so I’m looking to do more swimming in the coming months.

We are most of the way through our preparation for childbirth classes. While I still feel that there’s a lot I don’t know I at least feel more confident with the labour process and how to fold a nappy. It’s feeling increasingly like a waiting game, but I still have an awful lot to do at work before I start my maternity leave in six weeks time.

Leave a Reply

